NYC Marathon Training Week 16: The Final Countdown

The marathon recap is still on its way, I promise!

IMG_1560

For now, here’s a glance at what my last week of marathon training looked like:

Monday – Rest

Tuesday – 5.15 miles, including Coach Jess’s Finish Line intervals

Doing 4 repeats of the stretch from Columbus Circle to the actual marathon finish line in Central Park was just incredible. It really helped me familiarize myself with that final hill, and just being there while the finish line was being constructed was exhilarating. So many runners were out in Central Park and I caught snippets of conversations about the marathon; the park was electric!

Wednesday – 4 miles

Thursday – Rest, except for running to film our NBC News interview!

IMG_1439

Friday – Rest

I woke up with a sore throat on Thursday, and by Friday it was a full-blown cold. I was freaking out just a little bit…after spending the morning at the expo, I went home and crashed on Friday night. With the help of NyQuil.

A raging Halloween it was not.

IMG_1454

Saturday – 2.1 miles, Easy 20 minute shakeout run + 4 x 20 second strides

A cold and rainy day. I did my shakeout run on the treadmill and spent the day resting up for Sunday and trying to clear my sinus congestion. Bleh.

Sunday – 26.2 miles – NYC Marathon!

Recap coming soon! Spoiler alert: my congestion cleared up for the race. Must have been those 35 MPH winds. Hooray!

Total – 11 miles, or 37-38 miles including the marathon

Thanks for going with me through this journey of marathon training! If you want to read about previous weeks, here are all of my training recap posts. 

~~~~~

The winner of the LÄRABAR giveaway is Irina!

Screen shot 2014-11-04 at 9.49.13 PM Screen shot 2014-11-04 at 9.47.50 PM

Congratulations! Email me at marathonsandmacarons(at)gmail(dot)com by Thursday 11/6 to get your prize.

If you didn’t win, here is a coupon for $.50 off any LÄRABAR flavor!

And here’s how to find out where to buy LÄRABAR near you.

~~~~~

Follow Marathons and Macarons:

6 thoughts on “NYC Marathon Training Week 16: The Final Countdown

  1. Pingback: My First Marathon: TCS NYC Marathon 2014 Recap! | Marathons and Macarons

Leave a comment